Submission Form

The Naked Reviewers Book Of The Year Awards

The Naked Reviewers are excited to be in our third year of successful blogging and reviewing independent authors from all genres, and we are having so much fun hosting a competitive awards program to help further celebrate the achievements of indie book publishing.

While we realize there are many awards available to authors these days, most are cost-prohibitive or over-saturated with entries or worse, are nothing but scams. As fellow independent authors, we do understand the overwhelming task of choosing just the right one to fit each author’s marketing interests. So, after some careful research and planning, we’ve devised an award to meet precisely what will benefit authors the most at an affordable entry fee.

Depending on which award your book wins, you will get the corresponding ribbon on your cover, and this 7.5-inch trophy with your name and book title to showcase in your home or office.

Our awards offer yet another way to reach readers by showcasing two top winning categories. The winners will receive a prominent spot on the front page of our review site for one year. Winners also receive a trophy, a logo ribbon for book covers and promotional use, plus our top promotional package, which includes a review of the book by two people on our review team, full coverage on all social media between our staff for a week, and the reviews are shared to Goodreads along with an author takeover event with at least 3 other authors.

With a growing number of awards these days for indie authors, we want to provide a quality service of reviews and promotions. We are a team that enjoys reading, reviewing, and sharing news on books we are excited about reading and celebrating. We are not here to take advantage of authors or merely take their hard-earned money. That said, we are also busy authors and reviewers who want to offer a quality award and promotion program for all concerned.

Our time is valuable too, and running such a program does incur a cost. Therefore, authors have a number of options at their disposal with TNR and can always submit their work for consideration for a one-time free review spot on our blog. This option will always be an option along with the paid promotion packages that are available to anyone at any time.

Two annual awards will be offered for books published in each calendar year beginning with 2016: one for children’s/young adult fiction and the other for adult fiction.

Award Categories

The Emperor’s Choice Award

Exposing books to honest and thorough reviews is what we do best, much like the beloved Hans C Andersen fairy tale of the emperor who bared it all in the name of proving himself fit for office. Likewise, we will choose one book from the pool of submissions in the readers under 18 category that proves itself worthy of being the best above the rest. Books will be judged on the quality of cover art, effectiveness in reaching the target age group, exceptional writing quality, meticulous formatting, and internal layout and design elements.

The Lady Godiva Award

Taken from the fabled story of the courageous woman who rode naked through the streets of Coventry, shielded only by her long hair, in order to protest cruelty and oppression, this award showcases the best in adult fiction. Thus, to award the courage and tenacity it takes to produce a quality independent book in today’s changing industry, we designed this award for the best overall book in adult fiction. Categories include (but are not limited to) Science fiction, fantasy, time slip, romance, historical fiction, erotica/LGBT, Christian/inspirational, suspense, action, etc.

Entry Requirements For 2020 Book Of The Year Award

  • Starts January 1, 2020 at 12:01am CST/CDT and goes through December 31, 2020 midnight CST/CDT.
  • Books must have a publication date of 2019-2020.
  • Winners will be announced by the end of January 2021

Entry fee per book, per award category, is $50. Books previously reviewed by TNR can enter at the discounted rate of $45.

We are offering a $10 discount until Halloween.

Please follow the submission guidelines for entering books on the website “awards submission” form, here.